Employmentbuddy - Your best buddy in human resources

Tier 2 (General) and (ICT) Visa Factsheet

  • What is a Tier 2 visa?
  • Sponsoring migrants under Tier 2
  • Tier 2 visa requirements
  • Summary of requirements for the Tier 2 (General) and Tier (ICT) visa

What is a Tier 2 visa?

Tier 2 of the Points Based System (PBS) is designed to enable skilled workers to live and work in the UK. There are 2 categories within Tier 2 which are most commonly used by employers to employ staff in the UK – Tier 2 (General) and Tier 2 (Intra Company Transfer). The key requirements of each kind of visa are set out in the below table, but the main difference is that a Tier 2 (ICT) visa enables a UK company to transfer an employee from an overseas company to work temporarily in the UK, whereas the Tier 2 (General) route is for any skilled worker who wants to work in the UK. There are 2 sub-categories of Tier 2 (ICT) visa, as set out below, and each sub-category has a different purpose and requirements.

Last updated on 25/05/2017 12:12:14 | #Immigration